Angler of the Year FAQ's

What is the Toyota Tundra Bassmaster Angler of the Year award? Along with the Bassmaster Classic trophy, the TTBAOY is the most sought after and prized title in all of sportfishing.

How is the AOY determined? Bassmaster Elite Series anglers accumulate points in each of eight regular season tournaments and two postseason tournaments. The angler with the most points at the end of the season is named AOY.

When did the award start? Bill Dance won the first AOY award in 1970.

Who has won the most AOY titles? Roland Martin won the AOY title nine times — 1971, 1972, 1973, 1975, 1978, 1979, 1981, 1984 and 1985. The AOY trophy is named for him.

Who are the other multiple winners of the AOY title? In addition to Roland Martin, eight other anglers have won multiple AOYs: Kevin VanDam (1992, 1996, 1999, 2008 and 2009), Bill Dance (1970, 1974 and 1977), Mark Davis (1995, 1998 and 2001), Jimmy Houston (1976 and 1986), Larry Nixon (1980 and 1982), Gary Klein (1989 and 1993), Guido Hibdon (1990 and 1991) and Davy Hite (1997 and 2002).

Who are the only back-to-back winners of AOY awards? Roland Martin won back to back in 1971, 1972 and 1973, in 1978 and 1979 and in 1984 and 1985. Guido Hibdon did it in 1990 and 1991 and Kevin VanDam won back to back in 2008 and 2009.

Has a rookie ever won AOY? Tim Horton won the 2000 AOY award as a rookie.

Who was the youngest AOY? Kevin VanDam was 24 years, 7 months and 3 days old when he won AOY in 1992.

Who was the oldest AOY? Roland Martin was 45 years, 2 months and 18 days old when he won AOY in 1985.