B.A.S.S. names 2022 Bassmaster High School All-State Fishing Team

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. — Fifty-three of the most outstanding high school anglers from across the country have been named to the 2022 Bassmaster High School All-State Fishing Team presented by Academy Sports + Outdoors.

The students were selected for the honor based on their success in bass tournament competition, academic achievement and leadership in conservation and community service.

To be considered for the All-State Fishing Team, a student must have been nominated by a parent, coach, teacher or other school official. Students enrolled in grades 10-12 with a current-year grade point average of 2.5 or higher were eligible.

B.A.S.S. received nearly 400 nominations from across the nation. From these, judges selected 53 student anglers from 34 states to make the All-State Fishing Team. In addition, 40 students received Honorable Mentions recognizing them for their tournament success as well as community service and academic achievement.

“Congratulations to all 53 anglers on being selected to be a part of the 2022 Bassmaster High School All-State Fishing team or Honorable Mention,” said Glenn Cale, B.A.S.S. Nation Tournament Manager — College, High School and Junior. “It’s always impressive to see the accolades of each applicant. Every parent and angler should be very proud of joining the team.”

A second panel of judges will review the nominations of the 53 All-State team members and select the 12 members of the 2022 Bassmaster High School All-American Fishing Team presented by Academy Sports + Outdoors. As in All-State judging, criteria include success in high school fishing tournaments, involvement in conservation efforts and other community service activities.

The 12 finalists will compete in a one-day Bassmaster High School All-American Bass Tournament presented by Academy Sports + Outdoors, which will be held during the 2022 Simms Bassmaster Elite at Lake Fork, scheduled to take place May 19-22 in Quitman, Texas.

Elite Series anglers will serve as teammates and “coaches” of the student anglers in the tournament. The high school standouts will be honored on the main stage at the weigh-in.

Below is the list of the 53 All-State anglers and 40 Honorable Mentions, in order by state:

• Hudson Choquette, Headland
• Braxton Hopper, Chelsea
• Barclay Butler, Scottsboro (Honorable Mention)
• Dixie Morris, Valley (Honorable Mention)
• James Quinlivan, Headland (Honorable Mention)
• Benjamin Travis, Birmingham (Honorable Mention)

• Zachary VerBrugge, Lake Havasu City

• Austin Rose, Mena
• Brady Horton, Clinton (Honorable Mention)
• Jackson Smith, Fayetteville (Honorable Mention)

• Bryce DiMauro, Longwood
• Tyson Verkaik, Eustis
• Drew Bradstreet, Lutz (Honorable Mention)
• Nick Claussen, Dover (Honorable Mention)
• Evan Newell, Lakeland (Honorable Mention)
• Cole Rountree, Clermont (Honorable Mention)

• Gabriel Clark, Ellerslie
• Gage Sellars, Bainbridge
• Henry Garrett, Evans (Honorable Mention)
• Jacob Hodge, Evans (Honorable Mention)
• Cohen Smith, Williamson (Honorable Mention)

• Szymon Piton, Orland Park
• Laindree Richardson, Benton
• Andrew Kay, Shorewood (Honorable Mention)
• Hunter Petrovic, Minooka (Honorable Mention)

• Cole Berry, Terre Haute
• Dylan May, Brownsburg

• Kolby Angell, Grand Junction
• Tyler Loudon, Creston
• Caleb Neu, Johnston (Honorable Mention)
• Jackson Toale, Independence (Honorable Mention)

• Colton Hutchinson, Bonner Springs

• Evan Fields, Shelbyville
• Jaydon Coggins, Burnside (Honorable Mention)

• Levi Thibodaux, Thibodaux
• Jase White, Haughton
• Evan Howe, Keatchie (Honorable Mention)
• Wade Roberts, Lake Charles (Honorable Mention)

• Colby Carrier, Skowhegan

• Grayden Scibilia, Hagerstown

• Nicholas Frumkin, Lincoln

• Brayden Ruckman, Freeland
• Henri Sturm, Fenton

• Jacob Panichi, Cook
• Matt Boerboom, Inver Grove Heights (Honorable Mention)
• Lance Nelson, Rosemount (Honorable Mention)
• Noah Wells, Esko (Honorable Mention)

• Wes Bailey, Brandon
• Parker O’Bryan, Brandon

• Brock Rogers, Bradleyville

• Logan Greeno, Kearney

• Carter Doren, Las Vegas

New Hampshire
• Cole Moulton, Enfield
• Cameron Yates, New Durham
• Alex Gross, Jefferson (Honorable Mention)

New Jersey
• Nicholas DellaPorta, Pequannock

New York
• Rein Golubjatnikov, Pittsford
• Tyler Mahood, Briarcliff Manor (Honorable Mention)
• Christian Misciagna, Syracuse (Honorable Mention)

North Carolina
• Harrison McCall, Salisbury
• Drake Sturgill, Lincolnton
• Hunter Alexander, China Grove (Honorable Mention)
• Kaden Buchmann, Mooresville (Honorable Mention)

• Kyle Johnson, Helena
• Braden McNamara, Delaware
• Mike Abbott Jr., Plain City (Honorable Mention)

• Zack Cooper, Tahlequah
• River Eubanks, Wilson

• Trenton Carey, York Springs
• Luke Rokavec, Mifflinburg
• Carson Forrester, Chambersburg (Honorable Mention)
• Ty Stroup, Mifflinburg (Honorable Mention)

South Carolina
• Hunter Dill, Travelers Rest
• Peyton Sorrow, Abbeville
• Zachary McCraw, Gaffney (Honorable Mention)

• Nathan Reynolds, Nashville
• Banks Shaw, Harrison
• Wayland Adkisson, Franklin (Honorable Mention)
• Riley Faulkner, Jacksboro (Honorable Mention)
• Carter Nutt, Nashville (Honorable Mention)
• Dylan Nutt, Nashville (Honorable Mention)

• Connor Dunn, Lucas
• Jared Mizell, Pearland
• Justin James, Orange (Honorable Mention)
• Breckett Long, Livingston (Honorable Mention)
• Kaden Mueck, Livingston (Honorable Mention)

• Brendan Vinton, Braintree
• Gordon Willey, White River Junction

• Ryan Lachniet, Gum Spring
• Shelby Rigney, Axton
• Logan Buttolph, Doswell (Honorable Mention)

• Hayden Nerland, Puyallup

• Reece Keeney, Hortonville