A historic Bassmaster fishery

Logan Martin’s bass fishing history is one of the best with Bassmaster. Not only has it hosted a couple Bass Pro Shops Bassmaster Opens over the years and Top 150 events, but it has also hosted three Bassmaster Classics. David Kilgore won the 2013 Open here and punched his ticket to the 2014 Guntersville Classic, meanwhile Stephen Browning won the 1998 Alabama Top 150 here.

The 48 Bassmaster Classics have been dispersed among 27 different fisheries. That means numerous lakes and rivers have hosted a few Classics. Logan Martin has three Classics under its belt and all came during the 1990’s. Robert Hamilton beat Denny Brauer in 1992, David Fritts beat Shaw Grigsby in 1993 and then Dion Hibdon beat Dalton Bobo by one ounce in 1997.

Editor's note: See 1997 Classic video.

The Hibdon-Bobo Classic is the tightest Classic in history as Dion jumped from fourth place on the final day to win by an ounce. Bobo lost the event and did indeed have a fish-care penalty, which would’ve given him the victory.

Logan Martin’s three Classics trail only Lay Lake and the Louisiana Delta, which have both hosted 4 a piece. Other lakes with three Classics are High Rock Lake (‘94, ‘95, ‘98), Lake Hartwell (‘08, ‘15, ‘18) and the James River (‘88-‘90).