2007 Major - Legends Lake Dardanelle - Russellville, AR, Aug 23 - 26, 2007

Field Set For Bassmaster Legends Presented By Goodyear

Third Bassmaster Major offers $250,000 top prize

CELEBRATION, Fla. — Pro anglers have just wrapped up this week's Capitol Clash on the Potomac River presented by BUSCH Beer and with that, BASS has finalized the 55-angler field for the third and final Bassmaster Major, the Bassmaster Legends presented by Goodyear, on the Arkansas River in Little Rock, Ark., Aug. 24-27.

 The field includes six anglers who hail from Arkansas, including Kevin Short of Mayflower.

 "I have fished the river hundreds of times in my life," said Short, who did not qualify for either of the earlier Bassmaster Majors. This is the tournament I was most looking forward to on the schedule. I really wanted to qualify for this one."

 But Short will have to contend with homegrown competition. Mike McClelland, Mike Wurm, Jimmy Mize, Stephen Browning and Scott Rook all qualify for the Legends through their three-year combined CITGO Bassmaster Angler of the Year averages — and all are looking to take home the $250,000 top prize. So, what is Short going to do?



"I have a pretty good history on the river at this time of year," he said. "It's going to be tough, but I plan to fish my butt off." Short has never fished a BASS event on the Arkansas River, but won a 2005 ESPN Outdoors Bassmaster Series event on nearby Lake Dardanelle.



Also in the field will be inaugural Bassmaster Majors winner Peter Thliveros of Jacksonville, Fla., — who is BASS' sixth all-time active money winner — and Bassmaster American winner Dave Wolak, qualifying because he is the 2005 Toyota Rookie of the Year.



Anglers will fish the Arkansas River on Days 1 and 2 and then fish a marked off, six-hole course of the river on Days 3 and 4. Anglers also will fish from their own wrapped boats on all four days of competition, offering unmatched exposure for their sponsors and individual brands.



Forty anglers qualified for the Bassmaster Legends based on three-year combined Angler of the Year standings. Also qualifying are the top 10 active anglers from the BASS all-time money list. Once again, Steve Kennedy is currently leading the Toyota Rookie of the Year race and qualifies as well. Also qualifying under an exemption is Mark Menendez.



2005 CITGO Bassmaster Classic champ Kevin VanDam and 2005 CITGO Bassmaster Angler of the Year Aaron Martens also will compete.



The Legends is in honor of the BASS founder Ray Scott. A complete list of qualifying anglers is below.



Additionally, www.Bassmaster.com will have complete coverage, a real-time leaderboard, live video of the weigh-ins and on-the-water live chats with anglers powered by Mobile ESPN. Daily tournament launches begin at 6:50 a.m. and weigh-ins begin at 3:30 p.m. CT, Aug. 24-27. Fishing fans that can't make it to the weigh-in can see the tournament Sept. 2 at 10 a.m. on ESPN2.



2006 Legends qualifiers



2005 Classic Champion: Kevin VanDam


2005 Angler of the Year: Aaron Martens


2005 Rookie of the Year: David Wolak


2006 Rookie of the Year Leader: Steve Kennedy


Previous Announcement: Mark Menendez



Top 10 All Time Money



Place  Angler Name             Winnings




1. Denny Brauer              $2,100,851.71   


2. Rick Clunn                $1,771,894.53


3. Gary Klein                $1,428,674.97


4. Shaw Grigsby, Jr          $1,348,755.23


5. Davy Hite                 $1,267,000.00


6. Peter Thliveros           $1,202,789.00


7. Zell Rowland              $1,089,265.90


8. Michael Iaconelli         $1,064,579.00


9. Tommy Biffle              $1,049,878.80


10. Takahiro Omori            $1,006,093.00





Top 40 2004, 2005, 2006 Angler of the Year Combined Standings



Place  Angler Name                 




1. Greg Hackney                     


2. Skeet Reese                     


3. Kevin Wirth


4. Edwin Evers                      


5. Timmy Horton                     


6. Gerald Swindle                   


7. Marty Stone                  


8. Terry Scroggins 


9. Mark Tucker                      


10. Kelly Jordon


11. Brent Chapman 


12. Dean Rojas                                        


13. Jason Quinn                      


14. Bernie Schultz                   


15. Lee Bailey                      


16. Scott Rook 


17. Brian Snowden                    


18. Ishama Monroe                   


19. Mike McClelland                   


20. Jeff Reynolds                     


21. Alton Jones                     


22. John Crews


23. Paul Elias                     


24. Jeff Kriet                    


25. Chad Brauer


26. Mike Wurm                      


27. Matt Reed                     


28. Jimmy Mize                      


29. Randy Howell                    


30. Mark Tyler                     


31. Keynon Hill                   


32. Mike Reynolds                       


33. John Murray                     


34. Guy Eaker                  


35. Todd Faircloth                 


36. Charlie Hartley                 


37. Morizo Shimuzu                 


38. Kotaro Kiriyama                 


39. Stephen Browning


40. Kevin Short               



Local sponsors include the Little Rock Convention and Visitors Bureau.


Sponsors of the Bassmaster Majors include CITGO Petroleum Corp., Toyota, Busch Beer, Purolator, Triton Boats, Mercury Marine, Berkley, Lowrance Electronics, MotorGuide, Advance Auto Parts and Theraseed®.